Author
Description

<h2>A <i>Sunday Times</i> Book of the Year <br />Winner of the Polari Prize</h2><p><b>'A book about love, identity, acceptance and the freedom to write, paint, compose and wear corduroy breeches with gaiters. To swear, kiss, publish and be damned. It is vastly entertaining and often moving ... There isn't a page without an entertaining vignette' <i>The Times</i>. </b></p><p>The extraordinary story of how a singular group of women in a pivotal time and place – Paris, Between the Wars – fostered the birth of the Modernist movement. </p><p>Sylvia Beach, Bryher, Natalie Barney, and Gertrude Stein. A trailblazing publisher; a patron of artists; a society hostess; a groundbreaking writer. </p><p>They were all women who loved women. They rejected the patriarchy and made lives of their own – forming a community around them in Paris. </p><p>Each of these four central women interacted with a myriad of others, some of the most influential, most entertaining, most shocking and most brilliant figures of the age. Diana Souhami weaves their stories into those of the four central women to create a vivid moving tapestry of life among the Modernists in pre-War Paris. </p>

ISBN
9781786694874
Imprint
Head of Zeus
Category
Non Fiction
Published
Pages
464
Annotation

<p>The story of how a singular group of women in a pivotal time and place – Paris, Between the Wars – fostered the birth of the Modernist movement. </p>

Region Exclusive
AD AE AF AG AI AL AM AO AQ AR AS AT AU AW AX AZ BA BB BD BE BF BG BH BI BJ BL BM BN BO BQ BR BS BT BV BW BY BZ CA CC CD CF CG CH CI CK CL CM CN CO CR CU CV CW CX CY CZ DE DJ DK DM DO DZ EC EE EG EH ER ES ET FI FJ FK FM FO FR GA GB GD GE GF GG GH GI GL GM GN GP GQ GR GS GT GU GW GY HK HM HN HR HT HU ID IE IL IM IN IO IQ IR IS IT JE JM JO JP KE KG KH KI KM KN KP KR KW KY KZ LA LB LC LI LK LR LS LT LU LV LY MA MC MD ME MF MG MH MK ML MM MN MO MP MQ MR MS MT MU MV MW MX MY MZ NA NC NE NF NG NI NL NO NP NR NU NZ OM PA PE PF PG PH PK PL PM PN PR PS PT PW PY QA RE RO RS RU RW SA SB SC SD SE SG SH SI SJ SK SL SM SN SO SR SS ST SV SX SY SZ TC TD TF TG TH TJ TK TL TM TN TO TR TT TV TW TZ UA UG UM US UY UZ VA VC VE VG VI VN VU WF WS YE YT ZA ZM ZW
Quotes

'Diana Souhami argues that modernism would not exist without these extraordinary women, and their courage, passion and verve certainly make this lively group biography an inspirational read'

Sunday Times

'Souhami is one of our most rewarding and inventive biographers, and this book is a splendidly hectic and vivid read ... If <i>No Modernism Without Lesbians</i> goes some way towards making us understand how they thought of themselves, and what they did, it will have done some good'

Spectator

'Souhami has written several fine biographies ... Now, in a comprehensive cultural history, she awards lesbians the credit for modernising art, manners and morals in the early twentieth century'

Observer

'<i>No Modernism Without Lesbians</i> is undoubtedly a contribution, correcting the history of modernism to more accurately account for the women who made possible such a lasting transformation in literature and art ... Souhami has opened the door to history a little further, creating more precious space for the whole truth to enter'

Daily Beast

'[A] vivid cultural history ... This often gossipy, always smart romp trains a well-deserved spotlight on lesser-appreciated literary and artistic lives'

Publishers Weekly

'A book about love, identity, acceptance and the freedom to write, paint, compose and wear corduroy breeches with gaiters. To swear, kiss, publish and be damned'

The Times

'Souhami challenges the Modernist canon that has dominated cultural education at their expense, foregrounding instead great men and their muses ... <i>No Modernism Without Lesbians</i> is important for 2020 because it rips apart the prevailing patriarchal model. What Souhami calls for is abandoning the Modernist canon and rebuilding it one lesbian at a time to create a new, inclusive, 21st-century model'

Gay & Lesbian Review

'A fresh perspective on modernism'

Kirkus Reviews

'An extraordinary and unreservedly recommended addition to community, college, and university library LGBTA /Studies and Women's Biography collections'

MidWest Book Review

'The lives and contributions of these four lesbians, who played a significant role in art and literature, illuminates the way lesbian work is often undervalued or discredited in comparison to those who aren't lesbian'

After Ellen

'Richly researched, entertaining and hugely enjoyable ... Souhami is a brilliant guide and this book a celebration, corrective and fillip all in one'

Chris Gribble, judge of the 2021 Polari Prize and CEO of the National Centre for Writing

Editions
ISBN
9781786694850
Format
eBook
Title
No Modernism Without Lesbians
ISBN
9781786694867
Format
Hardback
Title
No Modernism Without Lesbians
ISBN
9781786694874
Format
Paperback
Title
No Modernism Without Lesbians
Prices
[{"currency":"GBP","amount":"9.99","countries":"GB GI AI KY MS PN TC SH GS BM IO VG FK GG JE IM"}]
Image
Format
BIC Code
BGF
Genre
Export Only
Off
Sales Points

<p>Topically tackles women's overlooked contribution to modern culture. </p>

<p>Exuberantly LGBT. </p>

<p>Prize-winning author. </p>

<p>MARKET: Fans of Virginia Woolf, Gertude Stein, Sarah Waters, Carson McCullers, Jeanette Winterson. </p>

Measure X
129
Measure
mm
Measure Y
198
Is Primary Edition
Off