The Thorn Birds by Colleen McCullough was published in 1977. 

In 1983 it was adapted into a TV mini series starring Richard Camberlain and Rachel Ward.

It is one of the biggest and bestselling books of all time with over 30,000,000 copies sold worldwide.

McCullough has gone on to write more than twenty books including the Masters of Rome series. 

In November 2013 she returns to the genre that made her a star with Bittersweet.

Bittersweet is an epic saga of love, betrayal and redemption in 1920s Australia. The four Latimer sisters are famous throughout New South Wales for their beauty, wit and ambition. They've always been close, always happy. They thought this would never change. They left home to train as nurses, swapping the feather beds of their father's townhouse for the spartan bunks of nursing accomodation. But now, as the Depression casts its shadow acress Australia, they must confront their own secret desires as the world around them changes. Will they find the independence they crave? Or is life, like love always bittersweet?


Bittersweet will be published as an eBook on 1st November 2013 and in hardback on 27th February 2014.