Description

<p><b>From fresh new voice Aliya Ali-Afzal, <i>Would I Lie to You?</i> is a page-turning, warm and funny debut about what happens when you have your dream life – and are about to lose it.</b></p><h2>'A refreshing new voice in commercial fiction' <i>Cosmopolitan</i></h2><p>At the school gates, Faiza fits in. It took a few years, but now the snobbish mothers who mistook her for the nanny treat her as one of their own. She's learned to crack their subtle codes, speak their language of handbags and haircuts and discreet silver watches. You'd never guess, at the glamorous kids' parties and the leisurely coffee mornings, that Faiza's childhood was spent following her parents round the Tooting Cash'n'Carry.</p><p>When her husband Tom loses his job in finance, he stays calm. Something will come along, and in the meantime, they can live off their savings. But Faiza starts to unravel. Raising the perfect family comes at a cost – and the money Tom put aside has gone. When Tom's redundancy package ends, Faiza will have to tell him she's spent it all.</p><p><i>Unless she doesn't...</i></p><p>It only takes a second to lie to Tom. Now Faiza has six weeks to find £75,000 before her lie spirals out of control. If anyone can do it, Faiza can: she's had to fight for what she has, and she'll fight to keep it. But as the clock ticks down, and Faiza desperately tries to put things right, she has to ask herself: how much more should she sacrifice to protect her family?</p><p><b>A tense, funny and page-turning debut from a fresh new voice in fiction, <i>Would I Lie to You?</i> is perfect for readers of Adele Parks, Celeste Ng, and Kiley Reid.</b></p>

ISBN
9781800245686
Imprint
Head of Zeus -- an Aries Book
Category
Fiction
Published
Pages
448
Annotation

<p>When Faiza's husband loses his job, she must conceal that she's spent the family's emergency savings trying to keep up with the Yummy Mummies of Wimbledon.</p>

Region Exclusive
AG AI AU BB BD BM BN BS BT BW BZ CC CK CM CX DM FJ FK FO GB GD GG GH GI GM GS GY HM IE IM IN IO JE JM KE KI KN KY LC LK LS MM MS MU MV MW MY MZ NA NF NG NP NR NU NZ PG PN SB SC SD SG SH SL SO SZ TC TK TO TT TV TZ UG VC VG VU WS YE ZA ZM ZW AL AT BA BE BG CH CY CZ DE DK EE ES FI FR GR HR HU IS IT LI LT LU LV MC ME MT NL NO PL PT RO RS SE SI SJ SK SM VA
Region Non-Exclusive
AD AE AF AM AO AQ AR AW AX AZ BF BH BI BJ BL BO BQ BR BV BY CD CF CG CI CL CN CO CR CU CV CW DJ DO DZ EC EG EH ER ET GA GE GF GL GN GP GQ GT GW HK HN HT ID IL IQ IR JO JP KG KH KM KP KR KW KZ LA LB LR LY MA MD MF MG MK ML MN MO MQ MR MX NE NI OM PA PE PF PK PM PS PW PY QA RE RU RW SA SJ SN SR SS ST SV SX SY TD TF TG TH TJ TL TM TN TR TW UA UY UZ VE VN WF YT
Region Excluded
AS CA FM GU MH MP PH PR UM US VI
Quotes

'An uplifting and joyous read ... A refreshing new voice in commercial fiction'

Cosmopolitan

Illustrations
0
Editions
ISBN
9781800245662
Format
Hardback
Title
Would I Lie to You?
ISBN
9781800245679
Format
Trade Paperback
Title
Would I Lie to You?
ISBN
9781800245686
Format
Paperback
Title
Would I Lie to You?
ISBN
9781800245693
Format
eBook
Title
Would I Lie to You?
Prices
[{"currency":"GBP","amount":"8.99","countries":"GB GI AI KY MS PN TC SH GS BM IO VG FK GG JE IM"}]
Format
BIC Code
FA
Genre
Export Only
Off
Sales Points

<p>A smart, thoughtful and funny debut that handles themes of identity, culture, race, gender and finance with a light touch.</p>

<p>Author's writing has been longlisted for The Bath Novel Award, The Mslexia Novel Competition, The Mo Prize Hachette UK, and The Primadonna Prize.</p>

<p>Aliya Ali-Afzal is a keen observer of the Wimbledon yummy mummy tribe, and is often the only brown face at the school gates: the world of her book rings absolutely true.</p>

<p>MARKET: Liane Moriarty; Adele Parks; Marian Keyes; Kiley Reid; Celeste Ng.</p>

Measure X
129
Measure
mm
Measure Y
198
Is Primary Edition
Off